Tuesday, February 13, 2007

Snooker: Welsh Open 1st Round Results

The Welsh Open started on Monday with a full field of 48 players battling for the title. Unusual for a World Snooker event is that the 1st round in this tournament consists of players that would normally be in the final qualifying round.

Full 1st round results

Nigel Bond (Eng) 5-3 Liang Wenbo (Chn)
Stuart Bingham (Eng) 5-0 Joe Delaney (Ire)
Ryan Day (Wal) 0-5 Michael Judge (Ire)
Marco Fu (HK) 2-5 Andrew Higginson (Eng)
Ding Junhui (Chn) v Jamie Cope (Eng)
Robert Milkins (Eng) 3-5 Jamie Burnett (Sco)
Alan McManus (Sco) 5-2 Rod Lawler (Eng)
Joe Swail (NI) 5-1 Adrian Gunnell (Eng)
David Gray (Eng) 3-5 Ben Woolaston (Eng)
Michael Holt (Eng) 5-4 Ricky Walden (Eng)
Mark Selby (Eng) 5-0 Ian Preece (Wal)
Ian McCulloch (Eng) v Mark Allen (NI)
Andy Hicks (Eng) 4-5 Dave Harold (Eng)
Joe Perry (Eng) 5-2 John Parrott (Eng)
James Wattana (Tha) 1-5 David Gilbert (Eng)
Mark King (Eng) 0-5 Gerard Greene (NI)

Past winners
1992 - Stephen Hendry (Scotland)
1993 - Ken Doherty (Ireland)
1994 - Steve Davis (England)
1995 - Steve Davis (England)
1996 - Mark Williams (Wales)
1997 - Stephen Hendry (Scotland)
1998 - Paul Hunter (England)
1999 - Mark Williams (Wales)
2000 - John Higgins (Scotland)
2001 - Ken Doherty (Ireland)
2002 - Paul Hunter (England)
2003 - Stephen Hendry (Scotland)
2004 - Ronnie O'Sullivan (England)
2005 - Ronnie O'Sullivan (England)
2006 - Stephen Lee (England)
Post a Comment